Tired.

You know that kind of tired where you feel like if a bus hit you it’d be okay because then you could just lay down? That’s how I feel. Hit me with a bus tired. And I’ve been preparing for our big family vacation, and trying to ride horses again, and still trying to do at least one good business thing a day, but I can’t draw. I just can’t. My tired brain can’t tell my hands what to do. This used to freak me out, but now after years of insomnia, I just roll with it. It’s no excuse not to keep working. I can still paint, maybe not as precisely, but at least the base shadow layers are doable, so I’m plugging away at that. I also have dug up some old art. I have a lot of illustrations that I just haven’t known what to do with, but I keep them because I love them and want to come back to them later and put them to work. It has been hugely inspirational. Some of them are just terrible and it is really cool to see how much I’ve progressed. Some have pieces that are just great but the entire illustration is crap. The really nice thing about collaging in Photoshop is that I can pretty easily remove the good pieces and discard the not so good.

I also have dug up some old art. I have a lot of illustrations that I just haven’t known what to do with, but I keep them because I love them and want to come back to them later and put them to work. It has been hugely inspirational. Some of them are just terrible and it is really cool to see how much I’ve progressed. Some have pieces that are just great but the entire illustration is crap. The really nice thing about collaging in Photoshop is that I can pretty easily remove the good pieces and discard the not so good.  seamonsterI painted this water monster a couple years ago in Photoshop as part of my first attempt at making a pop-up book. The book turned out pretty meh, but several of the monsters are super fun. I pulled this photo from Google and really it is just awesome together and it’s actually led to a pretty fun new project that I’ll talk more about in July. I guess the point is to keep working. Even when you can’t. Eventually, I’ll have to address the fact that I can’t draw anymore, I can’t keep recycling work forever, but it’s been a nice break.

Leave a Reply

